Automobile

Massachusetts Car Insurance Laws: Everything You Need to Know

Massachusetts car insurance laws require all drivers to carry a minimum level of auto insurance coverage when driving or parking on public roads. Motorists must provide proof of insurance when requested by a law enforcement official. Driving without the proper car insurance coverage puts you at risk of financial responsibility and legal penalties.

Massachusetts Minimum Requirements

Massachusetts has relatively high minimum insurance requirements though they are still less than what is recommended to become properly covered. Every major insurance company will offer higher limits for a slightly increased monthly premium. Bankrate recommends purchasing increased limits for liability coverage to protect you and your assets.

Minimum car insurance requirements in Massachusetts are:

  • Bodily injury liability: $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident
  • Property damage liability: $5000 per accident
  • Personal injury protection: $8000

    What If I Don’t Carry Car Insurance?

    Massachusetts state laws require every motorist to carry car insurance. According to Einsurance, if you are caught driving with improper auto insurance coverages the following penalties apply:

    • A fine up to $5000 and no lower than $500
    • Incarceration up to one year
    • Suspension of your driver’s license up to 60 days

      You will also be required to pay for an entire year of insurance at the current highest market price.

      Coverage Options in Massachusetts

      Massachusetts’ liability insurance limits are fairly low even though personal injury protection could cover some medical costs related to bodily injury. If you cause serious injury to more than one person, your personal injury protection limits will be completely exhausted.

      According to TheZebra, insurance providers offer many types of coverage that can be added to an existing auto insurance plan, including:

      • Comprehensive: Comprehensive coverage pays for repair and replacement when your vehicle was damaged by an event considered out of the driver’s control, such as weather, theft, vandalism, or striking an animal on the roadway.
      • Medical payments: Regardless of who is at fault in an accident, this coverage will cover your medical costs, loss of services, child care, and funeral expenses.
      • Roadside assistance: This optional coverage reimburses the policyholder for locksmiths, refueling, and towing.
      • Collision: This insurance is subject to a deductible and covers repair and replacement costs when you collide with another vehicle or a static object such as a tree or curb.
      • Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist: This type of insurance covers you when the at-fault driver doesn’t have insurance or their insurance is insufficient.
      • Rental reimbursement: This coverage reimburses the cost of a rental vehicle when yours is in the shop for more than 24 hours.
      • Gap coverage: If you have financed your vehicle, gap insurance, also called loan/lease payoff, will pay off the difference between what you owe and the actual cash value of your vehicle after it’s totaled.
      • Accident forgiveness: Your auto insurance rates won’t increase after getting into an accident. You must be accident-free for at least five years to receive this coverage.

        Massachusetts Is a No-Fault State

        According to Nolo, a no-fault insurance system means drivers must carry their own financial protection. When you are involved in a traffic accident, regardless of who caused the accident, drivers will file a claim with their own insurance provider. Twelve states in the U.S. have enacted “no-fault” laws to reduce the number of extraneous lawsuits for traffic accidents. An additional benefit of this system is that everyone involved in the accident gets immediate medical attention.

        What Determines My Car Insurance Rates in Massachusetts?

        Average annual car insurance rates in Massachusetts are $1183 for a full-coverage plan, while a policy with state minimum coverage is $397. Massachusetts’ average annual rates for full coverage policies are $555 cheaper than the national average of $1738.

        The Massachusetts Office of Insurance Regulation regulates auto insurance premiums. Insurance providers may change premiums and give discounts based on several factors, including:

        • Your insurance history
        • Your driving experience
        • How many miles you plan to drive
        • Where you live, work, or park your car
        • Your past violations and accident history
        • Your age, gender, and marital status
        • Your vehicle’s make, model, and year
        • If your vehicle is used for business

          Consider the following ways to lower your insurance premiums:

          • Take advantage of any discounts made available by your insurance provider. Many insurance companies offer discounts to their policyholders, such as good or safe driving discounts, anti-theft devices discounts, paperless billing or online discounts, hybrid or EV discounts.
          • Compare premiums of at least three different local insurance companies.
          • Cancel any insurance coverages you don’t need.
          • Contact your local DMV to see if your state offers any low-cost coverage programs.

            Laws That May Affect Your Auto Insurance

            Massachusetts has many car insurance laws. Whether you plan to move to Massachusetts or have been a resident for several years, it’s smart to get to know even the most minor insurance laws. As a driver, you not only have to comply with public regulations, you also have rights yourself. Check out the most important laws for every driver to know below:

            • Anyone driving or parked on a public roadway must carry a regulated minimum level of liability car insurance.
            • Anyone driving or parked on a public roadway must carry a regulated minimum level of personal injury protection, also known as no-fault insurance.
            • All drivers must provide proof of insurance to register their car with the Massachusetts Department of Motor Vehicles.
            • Any relatives that live in the same house as you must also be listed on your auto insurance policy.
            • No driver can be denied coverage based on their age, gender, marital status, education, income, or credit score.
            • If you are denied coverage from a private auto insurance company, you may purchase insurance through the state auto insurance plan known as Massachusetts Automobile Insurance Plan.

              Getting insurance brings peace of mind and the freedom to use public roads. Head to your preferred auto insurance provider’s website to get an instant quote totally free today!

              Check this out if you need additional information, resources, or guidance on car insurance.

              Sources:

              Car and Driver Car Insurance Hub | caranddriver.com

              Massachusetts Car Insurance Laws | thezebra.com

              Massachusetts Auto Insurance Guide | einsurance.com

              Massachusetts Car Insurance Laws | bankrate.com

              Massachusetts No-Fault Car Insurance | nolo.com

              This content is created and maintained by a third party, and imported onto this page to help users provide their email addresses. You may be able to find more information about this and similar content at piano.io

Most Related Links :
reporterwings Governmental News Finance News

Source link

Back to top button